Skip to content
June 12, 2012 / Marie

DIY storage ottoman

I am constantly looking for ways to make my living room more comfortable. One of my Morris chairs, though comfortable, was lacking a place for someone to rest their feet. I decided that an ottoman would be a pretty fantastic addition. I went online to look for a nice, visually appealing, and unique ottoman. Sadly, many are either too expensive or too generic looking. None of the ones I saw really appealed to me. So, what’s a girl to do when she can’t buy something she wants? Well, THIS girl makes it instead!

I went to one of my favorite antique stores and bought an antique wooden cranberry box. The next stop was Lowes to get casters so that it could easily be moved and wood for the top and to reinforce the bottom. I went to Michael’s and bought batting and foam for the top. The fabric was left over from reupholstering some of my chair cushions last year. Besides being really comfortable for your feet, the ottoman can also be used for storage and extra seating!

Project cost:

  • Antique wooden crate $15
  • 4 Casters $6
  • Wood $8
  • Batting/foam $10

  TOTAL $39

ImageImageImage

After:

ImageImageImage

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marie / Jan 22 2014 5:10 am

    Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Top 10 DIY Ottomans - Top Inspired

Leave a Reply

